We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Which area to stay at for a first time visiter to Chiang mai

Level Contributor
13 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Which area to stay at for a first time visiter to Chiang mai

Hey guys,

I'm staying two days at Shangri la hotel with my family but after 2 days, my girlfriends coming to see me and thus I wanna change location and probably get a cheaper hotel than the shangri la hotel, maybe 40-50$ a night

Could you pls recommend which area to stay at? Its my first time in Chiang mai (or Thailand) and i will be starting my backpacking trip here.(im so excited) old city? I'm more into feeling the culture of a country than staying at the touristic places

Please help and suggest locations or even accomodation!!

Thanks a million guys,

Have a nice day

Rgds,

Kunal

Harbin, China
Destination Expert
for Kanchanaburi
Level Contributor
22,386 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Which area to stay at for a first time visiter to Chiang mai

Hi,

Speaking for myself I like to be close to the river and night market. There are a number of cheap places to stay at. Chiang Mai isn't a big city and much of it is doable on foot. For the slightly greater distances you can take a songtaow (pick up truck/taxi)

Edited: 27 February 2012, 12:05
lewes uk
Level Contributor
10,151 posts
205 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Which area to stay at for a first time visiter to Chiang mai

Hi,