We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 post
11 reviews
Save Topic
Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

I was really, really disappointed with this place. Like other people reading the excellent reviews posted about this hotel chose to ignore the one person that had written a negative comment. However, now having returned home from a truly dreadful stay at this place wish that I had listened to them. The service is horrendous, the beach is absolutely non-existent considering the quality to be had elsewhere in thailand. The staff are surly and unhelpful, the rooms are clean but due to poor organisation by the management doing the bookings it is a common occurence for guests to be moved to another room mid-stay. The owner-operator is unhelpful and always suggests the most expensive options for guests as he gets a kick back from the tour operators. The fact that it is owned by a well travelled british couple I thought would result in great service etc however I was completely wrong. I definitely recommend against staying here. Try Big John 1 on the opposite side of the island - much better beach, staff, rooms, facilities!

Australia
Level Contributor
361 posts
40 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Well MaryMelbourne I'm sad to read you had such a horrible time at the Waterfront and I hope it didn't ruin your whole holiday!

I have just come back from staying 7 nights at the Waterfront with my family in the beach bungalow and we had a wonderful time. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and weren't asked to move rooms as you mentioned for our stay. I did my homework before I left from tripadvisor and knew what tours we wanted to do - never did any of the staff or owner try to or suggest any tour over the other.

As for the beach yes a bit disappointing but people had previously mentioned this on tripadvisor so we knew we couldn't swim directly infront of the resort but it was very clean. We decided on the Waterfront because of it's size (though the pool I feel is too small) and it's location and were not disappointed. Sitting around the bar after a lovely meal at one of the many great restaurants at night with the children a step away and IN VIEW fast asleep while we enjoyed listening to and meeting other travellers was wonderful and relaxing. To us we felt the Waterfront was like a home away from home - we were greeted each morining with warm welcoming smiles.

Would I recommend the Waterfront yes, would I stay there again maybe not - now I have to check out the other side of the Island Big John 1 here I come!

13 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Mary Melbourne

We have also stayed at the Waterfront recently and agree with you. The staff range from rude to indifferent. The pool is a tiny, all you can do is to go in and stand around the side to cool off from the heat. The noise from the bar/restaurant at the back of the hotel keeps you awake till early hours. The bathroom drains smell. We definately would not recommend this place to anyone. Have you read the review posted by someone from Hongkong saying this place is a dump. Yes, how come everyone needs to pay upfront before they see their accommodation????

london
Level Contributor
37 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Hi Mary, I'm booked into Waterfront so I'm getting a little nervious. I must say I was quite socked by your report. I'd read reports on the beach being unsuitable for swimming(how far is it to a decent beach?)and that the pool was quite small but the great reports re. the owner and staff seemed to compensate for that - now I'm not sure. Did'nt you enjoy anything there, and what tours did you go on?

Australia
Level Contributor
197 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Hi MaryMelbourne

We just returned from our two week stay and I wish that I had read your post before we left. We had the worst holiday due to the same issues that you raise.

I hope that the owners take note of these posts and stop putting in 'fake' fabulous reviews and do something about their hotel. It is obvious that they are organizing great reviews for their hotel as most of the posts are from the UK (they are a British couple). I can't believe so many people think the hotel is great when in fact it is a dive.

There are a couple of 'long stay' expats living in the hotel and their behaviour is totally accepted as the norm by the owners ... I guess they are getting money so what do they care. Swearing, drinking, fireworks, young Thai girlfriends who also work in the hotel ... what more can I say.

I would advise anyone to give this hotel a miss.... it was horrible.

arctica
Level Contributor
929 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Doesn`t sound like a nice place, I agree to that.

But DeeElle, isn`t it a bit thoughtless of you to give such a close description of other hotel guests (a couple of "long stay" expats living at the hotel)? Anyone who are familiar with the hotel will probably know who they are.

Even if you are angry with their behaviour, I think a complain against spesific persons should be communicated directly to the hotel, not in a huge international public forum where anonymity is one of the golden rules.

Australia
Level Contributor
197 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
6. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

hi imagion

I am sure you would agree that anyone who is acting in a way which would embarrass other guests including children would not care one way or the other what I put on the forum. In fact I would hazard a guess that they are totally uncaring about my opinion. I don't think I have given any specific information about any individual but if my post embarrasses anyone I am sorry ... however I wish heartily that I had been warned about what to expect prior to going to the hotel. I would have booked elsewhere.

Cheers

Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
2,491 posts
147 reviews
Save Reply
7. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

It sounds to me that this description of the Waterfront must be a fairly new thing. We were there just over a year ago, and friends were there a few months before, and the descriptions you folks are giving was definitely not the norm. We found all the staff to be great, we had a bit of trouble checking out with the son as both Robin and his wife were away, but the rooms were clean, the poolside was great - lots of families - and the breakfasts were good. No "hanky panky" going on in the resort and Robin was extrememly helpful finding us a fair cab driver etc etc. The only complaint we had was one British woman who thought we all enjoyed seeing her topless.....

Australia
Level Contributor
361 posts
40 reviews
Save Reply
8. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

Well DeeElle in the whole 7 nights we were there I didn't once hear any swearing, see or hear fireworks or witness any out of control drinking and I certainly don't recall any of the staff socialising with the male guests ofter hours!

Australia
Level Contributor
197 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
9. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

We all have our individual ways of seeing the world . .. thank goodness we don't all share the same opinion or we would want to stay at the same hotel. I don't pretend to speak on everyone's behalf but I do agree with MaryMelbourne's post.

We were there for two weeks and didn't think much of the hotel, but again that is just IMO.

Adelaide
Level Contributor
50 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
10. Re: Waterfront Bophut Ko Samui

I know this forum is old, however I do feel ilke the reviews of this hotel are completely biased (in my opinion too biased especially when there is a computer sitting in the area where management sits for guests)

MaryMelbourne, I 100% agree with what you have written.

I stayed there with my boyfriend based on the good reviews on tripadvisor and was hoping for something special, which it certainly wasn't. It was definitely the worst place I have ever stayed.....I'm not precious, I went trekking in the jungle the week before and slept on bamboo slats.

We left without a refund (after we had paid upfront) and moved to another hotel (Buri Rasa - beautiful place) and do not regret losing the money at all.

If anybody reads this and is planning to stay at this hotel.....please don't stay here. If we had stayed more than one night it would have ruined our time in Samui.

The first thing that their son asked when he picked us up on the airport was "what website did you read to find our hotel". Every negative review posted on trip advisor gets a snappy response from management. The response to my hotel review was "This will be brief as we have had 3 similar rewiews in the last month and all came from Australia. We have no record of anyone checking in out in June and also asking for any refund"

I can assure you that my review is real and unfortunately we did stay at this resort for a night.....one night too long!!!