We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safety in Phuket

Kingston730
5 posts
Save Topic
Safety in Phuket

My husband and I are preparing for our first vacation in Phuket with two nights in Bangkok. I have had a few friends warn me about pick pockets and purse snatchings while touring/sightseeing. Has anybody had any problems with this in these two areas? Is this very common and should we be wearing money belts?

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Safety in Phuket

Hi - I work as a volunteer for the Phuket Tourist Police, so maybe I'm well-placed to answer this question.

Pickpocking and purse-snatching is no more a problem in Phuket than it is in any other tourist destination. But there will always be some opportunist thieves around!

A moneybelt worn under your shirt is a good idea when visiting any busy tourist destination or crowded area - this applies not only to Phuket.

If you carry a handbag, make sure that it is zipped shut -it's very easy to be distracted and your valuables could be gone in a few seconds. Likewise, when visiting bars and restaurants, do not place your handbag on the seat next to you where you might not have 100% visibility of it at all times. (Better to place it on the floor under your feet and 'trap' the handbag strap around your chair-leg).

'Elite' pickpockets from South America who use knives to slit open handbags are NOT commonplace in Phuket.

There have been incidents where bags/gold chains have been snatched whlst the owners have been riding motorcycles, often causing the bike to crash with serious consequences. The commonsense answer is not to display gold chains/watches and hold your bags close to you.