We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Contemplating trip to Phuket. Think we are 'over' Bali.

Adelaide
Level Contributor
573 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
Contemplating trip to Phuket. Think we are 'over' Bali.

Hi TA's.

I am a complete novice to this forum so forgive my ignorance. We have been to Bali 4 times and have booked to go in October but mainly because friends of ours wanted to go. To be honest, I'm not really looking forward to it.

The last time we went (Jan/Feb this year) we both came home feeling like it was a bit of a waste. The constant haggling and the traffic just started to P me off, not to mention the filthy Kuta beach with rubbish and used syringes. I think the cruelty of animals has got to us too. Normally I put up with it but it just seems to be getting worse.

My son has just done a tour with his band of SE Asia and he said the nicest place they went to was Thailand. He said Bali wasn't what he remembered a few years ago. He said he couldn't get over how aggresive the shop sellers had become! I told him how I felt the same way. He was supprised cos I usually defend Bali.

We are all planning to go on a holiday around Dec/Jan so I am thinking of booking Phuket. I have absolutley no idea where to even book! We normally stay 4 star but I don't know how they compare with Bali 4 star.

Has anyone else ever had similar issues or am I just getting less tolerent as I get older?

Thanks.

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15,864 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Contemplating trip to Phuket. Think we are 'over' Bali.

Places change alot over the years; Bali certainly has and so has Phuket, there's not much we can do about it as we, as tourists, are partly responsible.