We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from airport to Nai Harn

New York State
Level Contributor
9 posts
28 reviews
Save Topic
Driving from airport to Nai Harn

Can anyone recommend the slow/scenic route from the airport to Nai Harn? (if there is such a thing) This will be my first time driving in Thailand and my first time driving on the "other" side. I am an awesome driver and I have driven many major cities throughout the world. I have been to Thailand before so I know what to expect, and to be honest, I look forward to the thrill and challenge. I just thinks it's best if I start out slow. (every map gives me directions on the east coast, going through Phuket Town. How is the west coast? Distance doesn't look much longer). Thanks!

Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
492 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from airport to Nai Harn

Driving the west coast is certainly more scenic than running down Thepkasatri Road though P Town.. In fact several parts of that drive are favorites of mine. The problem is that the route itself is not clearly marked and even maps are sometimes rough estimates.

It's probably best to think of the drive in segments such as:

Airport south to the turn off to Naithon Beach. (3-5 minutes)

Naithon Beach road along the coast south to Outrigger turn right to go through the Laguna area to Cherng Talay. (15-20 minutes - if you drive slowly like I do)

Cherng Talay - go out to the main road (at the police station), turn right and follow that road through Cherng Talay, BangTao, on through Surin Beach to Kamala and over the mountain to Patong. (Another 20-25+ minutes or so.)

Find your way through Patong to Karon, stay on the coast to/through Kata Beach. (10-12-15 minutes depending on traffic)