We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safety concerns about upcoming trip...

Saltcoats, United...
Level Contributor
176 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Safety concerns about upcoming trip...

What with all the posts about being scammed/mugged/held at knifepoint in Saigon etc, im kind of worried about my upcoming trip now.

My main concerns are using ATM's, taxis, my DSLR camera, my personal money.

For my DSLR camera I replaced my normal straps with slashproof ones, and also attached a secondary wrist strap. I am a photographer so my camera will be staying with me most of the time.

My personal money I have ordered a pacsafe slashproof under body wallet, to conceal my money and cards.

As for expensive jewellery ( will be proposing to my girlfriend in phu quoc) and i will be insisting she takes it off in Saigon and makes use of the room safe, which will also contain our passports etc.

Our trip has been organised by a travel agent and we will have a private guide in most of the places we go, so this had alleviated my worries, as often having a local with you deters potential thieves.

What about taxis? Should I always arrange transport through my hotel (or restaurant), and arrange a pickup time, and a time for them to collect us as well? how do we negotiate a price? what if they lock us in and demand more?

Please help alleviate my concerns about this trip. mainly to Saigon and Hanoi. I want this trip to be perfect so my girlfriend remembers the time i proposed to her for the rest of her life, and not because we fell foul of some scam or mugging.

thanks, Bryan

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5,370 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Safety concerns about upcoming trip...

Hi Bryan, We didn't have a issue when we were in vietnam (coming again in 2 days). We always felt perfectly safe.