We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

cycling in cambodia

somerset uk
Level Contributor
341 posts
Save Topic
cycling in cambodia

Please forgive the very naive questions. I am just beginning to research the possibilities of a cycling tour of Cambodia, taking my own bike from the UK. I have done this many times to Sri Lanka so traffic/bad roads poses no anxieties. Has anyone done this before? Obviously hundreds of questions to be answered but first off is, do any airlines fly direct to Phnom Peng ( I fear transfers as the likelihood of the bike arriving with me are reduced) and allow over size baggage to go free, as do Srilankan to Colombo? (I don't take much stuff.) And can one get accomodation and live off local/street food for no more than £10 per day?

I have looked back a few weeks on this forum - any helpful links I have missed?

Richard

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
1,522 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: cycling in cambodia

hi Richard,i have cycled from Bangkok to Phnom Penh and around the lake the country is quite flat and now for the most part sealed roads.its very easy to eat at the road side stalls and find accommodation as you go,cost about $2 a meal including water.i normally would sleep at someones shelter or home,the khmers will look after you and its a great way to learn khmer.

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13,275 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: cycling in cambodia

Hello riconabikes,

I have seen many cycling tourists in Cambodia and riding their own bikes.

Most airlines accept bikes but require them to be somewhat reduced in volume and packed in a carton of some sort for the protection of the bike.

Quite possibly you did this or similar for other cycling trips overseas?