We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Backpacker

3 posts
Save Topic
New Backpacker

Hi guys! I'm from Singapore and this is my first time bacpacking and goin at it alone. Im thinkin either cambodia or vietnam. Would like to seek some advice from all of you. I dowana be goin in blind. Will be doing some research myself of course but would like the opinions of people with experience too.

Nova Scotia
Destination Expert
for Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11,665 posts
168 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: New Backpacker

Well you can start reading these forums. And click on some of the 'top questions' at the right above.

3 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: New Backpacker

Thank you for the quick reply!

Yepyep im reading some of em. But most of em say about what to do there etc. Im also trying to find out how and what to do to prepare myself going there. Ive been trying to google that but doesn't really help.

Sorry where is the link for the top questions? I can't find it.

Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3,087 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: New Backpacker

For the best advice, you need to start by asking specific questions. I am not sure what you really want information on.

3 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: New Backpacker

Ok.

1. I understand whats visa,but how do you know which country needs visa and which do not. Where do you get this info from?

2. Usually do you prebook your hotel bookings when you go backpacking? If you don't, then how do you ensure you have a place to stay the night. What if the hotels are full up?

3. Aside from toiletries, clothes, first aid and survival equipments, travelling equipments. The standard few items. Are there anything else you would suggest to bring that most people wouldnt think of?