We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Proof of onward travel required for Kyrgyzstan?

New York
Level Contributor
350 posts
44 reviews
Save Topic
Proof of onward travel required for Kyrgyzstan?

I have a really quick question. I've been traveling - mostly overland - for about 8 months now and will be headed to central asia next, flying into Kyrgyzstan. I then plan to get some visas and travel to other countries in the region, mostly over land, and so am flying in only on a one way ticket, and traveling on an American passport and therefore do not require a visa upon arrival at the airport. My question is whether at the airport Manas, I will be required to show proof of onward travel. I do not currently have a flight ticket out since my itinerary is somewhat dependent on what I find. Has anyone had any recent experience with the arrivals at Manas if you don't require visas? I don't mind getting a flight ticket out of Kyrgyzstan that is refundable and exchanging it at a later date, but would rather not go through the hassle and expense if I don't have to.

Thank you!

New York
Level Contributor
350 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Proof of onward travel required for Kyrgyzstan?

Just wanted to post some information about my experience. I flew from Doha, Qatar to Bishkek via Dubai and Istanbul on United. The hardest time I had was in Doha, trying to get on the plane. The United security team are very diligent and were really confused by my routing. I was asked if i had a return ticket, but I just said that it wasn't on United and I would be returning. They did not ask to see it. They did verify that I could get visas on arrival at all my transit points - which I could on an American passport.