We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Self drive in October

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Topic
Self drive in October

I'm planning a trip to Laos in October and have been looking into hiring a 4WD and driving ourselves around. My rough itinerary so far is from VTE to Luang Prabang, further into the north e.g. Muang Sing or Luang Namtha, then to Phonsavan, Vang Vieng and back to VTE.

I'd be very grateful for your advice on the following:

1. What will the road conditions be like in October? I know it's just coming out of the rainy season - would this make self-driving a bad idea (landslips etc)?

2. Is a car a good way to see the country or more of a hindrance? I'm a photographer so having the ability to stop and take pictures would be a huge bonus (rather than being on the bus). But would a car just be a nuisance, particularly in the north (e.g. parking, filling up with petrol, small villages not suited to 4WD)?

3. What are the driving conditions like generally? I've driven all over the world including Asia. How would it compare to driving in Cambodia for example?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Level Contributor
567 posts
1,433 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Self drive in October

Self-driving isn't that difficult compared to neighbouring countries, primarily because the lower population means less traffic. However, you still have to deal with bad roads, kids and animals in villages and mountains (I spent a whole day driving in fog). There are plenty of cars and trucks driving around the remote areas so there is usually petrol around but you might want to identify locations in advance. Finding your way around can be difficult and, although sometimes you'll find a fluent English-speaker in a remote town, it can be difficult to get assistance.