We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hello Friends- Need your guidance in Mongolia

Hyderabad, India
1 post
Save Topic
Hello Friends- Need your guidance in Mongolia

I will be joining for working in an Austalian company having its operations in Mongolia (UB) and I am from India. I am pretty new this place and I head its chillest part of the world. Can some body advise me on what mandate precautions considering the coldest environment to be taken while especially living in SUKHABAATAR, UB. I am totally new to the very very cold environments.

Ulaanbaatar...
12 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Hello Friends- Need your guidance in Mongolia

Hi,

The temperature through winter varies from -20 to -35 celsius so is pretty chilly. However, the air is quite arid so most of the time the cold doesn't feel too bad.

You'll need a few things though:

1. A really good pair of thick boots (not Doc Martins as too thin) with excellent grip as the streets and pavements become very icy in winter. I'd recommend a pair of army surplus boots if you can find them as they should be good quality, functional and quite cheap.

2. A good, multi-layered jacket preferably fur lined if you want the warmest possible but if you don't agree with fur then an inner fleece layer is essential.

3. A warm hat.

4. Thermal trousers and vests to wear underneath everything.

5. You can buy all of this stuff in Ulaanbaatar if necessary

I think that you'll be fine as you probably won't be spending much time outdoors anyway, most people try to avoid it if possible.