We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smoking in Sri Lanka

Birmingham
2 posts
Save Topic
Smoking in Sri Lanka

Hi there, I'm new to this so please bear with me!

I'll apologise for my nasty habit up front, but I'm a smoker travelling to Sri Lanka, and I've been reading the other posts on the website and getting increasingly concerned!

I'm travelling on a weeks tour and then flying to the Maldives for a week. My other half is a non-smoker, but is happy to carry a couple of (open) packets of ciggies through Sri Lankan customs for the sake of my sanity - but I'm worried about finding cigarettes once I'm there and if I'll actually be able to smoke anywhere anyway!!!! Especially as it's a tour.

My other concern is being able to buy ciggies on the way out of Sri Lanka to the Maldives - is there availability in the outbound duty free shop?

Any advice would be more than welcome, as my tour operator is unsure as well!

Ahungalla, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5,466 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Smoking in Sri Lanka

Hi there......

Ok smoking as i found it there last month in Sri Lanka

No smoking at all in enclosed public places, including the following

Hotel lobbies that are not open one one side

All Restauraunts and Bars that are inside, out door ones ok

All transport, including tour ones, well that has been for sometime

Bus stops !!

Smoking allowed in hotel rooms, if room is not designated as non smoking

Yes, you can take one or two !! open packs per person into Sri Lanka, and yes you can buy them there too, as a "rough" guide Benson's are around 400 Rupees in Hotels about £2.00, or 250 Rupees in local shops around £1.25

Yes, you can buy duty frees on the way out of Sri lanka, price, around $18 Dollars US per carton, a little cheaper on aircraft though.