We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motorcycling through Sri Lanka. Tips and trips.

Sydney
Level Contributor
4,046 posts
199 reviews
Save Topic
Motorcycling through Sri Lanka. Tips and trips.

I have just returned from an amazing solo 16 day motorbike ride through Sri lanka. A trip like this is not for the faint hearted and I researched extensively before proceeding with this challenge.

I have 40 years riding experience in places including Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia and several rides through Vietnam.

I travelled from Negombo thru Colombo and south to Hikkaduwa. The scenery was amazing, the traffic hectic and the roads were excellent.

From Hikka I rode to Galle, Unawatuna, Welegama and Mirissa on the south coast and then headed to up the east coast toTangalle and Tissa, then on to Arugam bay.

After a lazy beach respite in Arugam I headed west into the highlands to Ella, Haputale, Nuwara Eliya then Kandy before finishing my planned circuit in Negombo 16 days later.

From each location I would do day trips after booking into my accom, which I had a shortlist of and which suited my budget.

It was an awesome experience and a challenge that I will always remember. The friendliness of the people and the food was extraordinary.

Tips:

1) I think my biggest tip would be to select the best Motorcycle rental company. After researching on TA and similar I chose Negombo Motorcycle Tours. The emails and contact flowed freely from the onset and Suranga, the owner was amazing to deal with. He arranged my Sri lankan riders permit and provided airport pickups and accom at his guesthouse in Negombo.