We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Istanbul during Ramadan

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 posts
32 reviews
Save Topic
Istanbul during Ramadan

This question has probably been asked before, I am planning to go to Istanbul for 3-4 days around July 18th, part of my Honeymoon Itinerary, before heading back home. I then realized that my trip to Istanbul will fall during Ramadan month. Are the restuarants/cafe/bars open during daytime? I will be assuming that businesses (Bazaar) and tours are available as usual?

What about nightlife, is there a bar/club that we can go to?

I am also studying my hotel options, is there any particular area's i should avoid where people might be more conservative during Ramadan?

Thank you

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17,579 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Istanbul during Ramadan

Everywhere is open as normal even bars etc.You will likely not even be aware it is Ramazan.The only thing is that restaurants and cafes will be very busy at sunset so plan to eat early or late to avoid the rush of hungry fasters :)

Also the Hippodrome area of Sultanahmet is worth an evening stroll as there are stalls and side shows set up for public entertainment for the whole of Ramazan.A lovely lovely atmosphere!

Kayakoy, Turkey
Destination Expert
for Istanbul
Level Contributor
9,313 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Istanbul during Ramadan

İ was one or two times only in İstanbul during Ramadan (when it was in the winter months), everything was open as normal. Some restaurants had more waiters than customers during the day. That will not be the case in Sultanahmet. Business as usual!

Edited: 11 March 2013, 18:12
Mount Dora, Florida
Destination Expert
for Istanbul
Level Contributor
14,158 posts
245 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Istanbul during Ramadan