We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turkish woman and boyfriend visiting Istanbul - unmarried

Gothenburg, Sweden
3 posts
Save Topic
Turkish woman and boyfriend visiting Istanbul - unmarried

We're going on our Istanbul trip in may, for 2 whole weeks. I can't wait. I'v been longing for this trip for many many years. I've been researching Istanbul extensively for 6 months and been writing down Istanbul tips, info and warnings in my notebook. It's almost full. I have never posted a question about Istanbul before, I have seached the web instead for answers.

I can't seem to find an answer to this situation though. Only about foreigners in this situation. But it's more okay for them because they're not originally from there?

I'm born and raised in Sweden but my parents are from Turkey. We have been together for almost 5 years.

We're staying in a hotel and I'm very worried about being judged by the locals (I want to discover the areas where the locals live and such to get an authentic feeling of the city) and hotelstaff, etc. for being a "bad" women because we're not married. We're 26 and 27 years old.

Unfortunately I'm very sensitive and I can't shut it off.

How can I respond if somebody ask us why we aren't married? What if they give me a judgemental look? How can I hold my head up?

I want to blend in with the locals and speak as much turkish as I can and wear normal casual clothes and pretend we're from there to avoid dangers. Is this still possible with no wedding ring on the finger?

Please tell me I'm worring for nothing.

I don't mean to offend anyone, I'm just not sure how this works over there? I'm quite scared right now.

I have no else to ask, maybe you can give me some good advise?

Thank you, I hope you have a nice dag/evening.

Edited: 17 April 2013, 17:21
Istanbul