We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best/cheapest time to visit Istanbul?

Which Istanbul hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
130 posts
47 reviews
Save Topic
Best/cheapest time to visit Istanbul?

Hi,

I'll be visiting my friend in Istanbul in 2014 and I'm debating on whether to go the first week of April or the first week of May. Weather-wise which would be the best choice? What should I expect (i.e. windy, cloudy, humid)?

I'll be traveling from Miami, FL and I'm trying to find a "cheap" flight (don't even know what would be reasonable to expect as far as pricing goes), so if anyone here can give me advice in regards to when would be a good time to book it I would really appreciate it!

Thank you, in advance.

P.S This is my first time visiting Istanbul, I cannot even begin to tell you how excited I am :)

Istanbul
Destination Expert
for Istanbul
Level Contributor
36,263 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best/cheapest time to visit Istanbul?

Eliza, Both are good dates but I think you will get better fares in April. You can check: "www.skyscanner.com.tr". In April, you can get a direct flight by Turkish Airlines from NYC to Istanbul for 653 USD. If you can find cheap tickets to NYC from Miami then that will make a great flight. Otherwise there are flights for around 900 USD to Istanbul for Miami. All these flights are R/T.

Mid April there is Tulip Festival and all tulips start blooming towrds the middle of April. Istanbul landscape becomes very pretty. The weather is warmer in May and it will not be humid at all. So whichever date suits your budget, you can travel then.

good luck,

enigma...

Mount Dora, Florida
Destination Expert
for Istanbul
Level Contributor
14,122 posts
243 reviews
Save Reply