We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ephesus DIY possible?

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
779 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Ephesus DIY possible?

Hi forum,

If I stay in a hotel in Selcuk, and have transport to and from the site covered, would you consider seeing Ephesus doable by yourself?

Are there explanatory boards on the site and good signage?

I don't really want to go with a group, as I am an amateur photographer and may want to spend more or less time in different areas of the site.

I will be going in late April. If I do go by myself, will there be better or worse times of day in respect to crowds?

Thanks ahead!

Hunbille

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17,579 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ephesus DIY possible?

Yes off course this is doable,and you can spend as long as you want in the site.You can buy a guişde book at the gate or an audio guide plus there is good signage.And you can often overhear bits and pieces from guides talking to their groups :)

Most hotels are happy to take people down to the site so just ask them and if the weather is nice then it is only a 35-40 minutes very nice walk going past Artemisia Temple and the museum too.

Don't forget to visit the Terrace Houses complex within the main site.An extra payment needed but well worth it.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
779 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Ephesus DIY possible?

Thanks! That is what I will do then.

Any thoughts on crowds?

United Kingdom
Destination Expert
for Sharm El Sheikh, Red Sea and Sinai, Side
Level Contributor
20,170 posts
183 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Ephesus DIY possible?

Hi,

Numerous reviews if Ephesus (incl terrace houses) under my profile.