We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renting a car? Driving in Israel?

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
790 posts
31 reviews
Save Topic
Renting a car? Driving in Israel?

Although we have done lots of travelling, we have never rented a car to drive in a foreign country. Although I am a good driver with tons of experience driving in the metropolitan New York/New Jersey area, I am somewhat concerned about driving in Israel. We will be attending a family wedding in the Netanya area, and I thought it would be helpful to have a car to get us back and forth from all the wedding activities.

Is renting a car something I should arrange on the web? Or can I do this at Ben-Gurion when we return from Eilat prior to the wedding activities?

Thanks again.

Level Contributor
21,532 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Renting a car? Driving in Israel?

Could you please be abit more specific about your planned activities?

Cincinnati, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Israel
Level Contributor
14,397 posts
192 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Renting a car? Driving in Israel?

If you can drive in New York and New Jersey, you can drive in Israel. It would make things considerably more convenient for you.

But rent from here, not on arrival. You'll get a better price. Try www.orbitz.com, then:

Avis Israel at www.avis.co.il

Budget Israel at www.budget.co.il

Eldan (Israeli company) at www.eldan.co.il.

Good luck!

Douglas Duckett

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
790 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Renting a car? Driving in Israel?