We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Using Dollars, Shekels, Credit Cards

Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
307 posts
13 reviews
Save Topic
Using Dollars, Shekels, Credit Cards

I head to Israel on August 21 for 18 days. It's my first time there.

Should I use dollars, shekels, credit cards etc. while there.My hotel rooms are being paid with a credit card but what would you suggest for restaurants, shopping et al. And, should I exchange dollars into shekels here in New York before departing or at Tel Aviv airport? What's the best procedure to follow?

Tel-Aviv
Destination Expert
for Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
9,545 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Using Dollars, Shekels, Credit Cards

Do not change dollars into shekels before you arrive - you will get a better rate here. For comparison, here are the current rates at the Post Office (no commission):

http://www.israelpost.co.il/postcurrency.nsf/WebDisplay/$First?opendocument&l=EN

All of the "Change Point" stores give similar rates, also with no commission.

As for using your credit card for restaurants and shopping, or for withdrawing cash from ATMs, you should check what fees are charge by your bank/credit card company for overseas transactions. It is also recommended that you notify them of your trip so that you card is not automatically blocked when what appears to be an unusual transaction is flagged.

Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
307 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Using Dollars, Shekels, Credit Cards

Thanks very much. I gather that I can exchange dollars into shekels at the airport without commission. Is that so?

Israel
Destination Expert
for Israel
Level Contributor
16,658 posts
82 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Using Dollars, Shekels, Credit Cards