We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help needed - information on Yemen

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
179 reviews
Save Topic
Help needed - information on Yemen

I am an Australian writer who is currently researching Yemen for a novel. The main character is an Australian woman whose husband is an engineer working on a dam in Yemen.

If all goes well with the story I will visit the country in person, perhaps when it is considered safer for a solo woman to do so.

I am frustrated by the lack of information available about current conditions there, and wonder if anyone would mind answering a small number of questions, most which are just for background information?

I would be most grateful.

If you are happy to help, let me know and I'll send the questions through. There will be less than 15 and will only require a sentence or two each.

Thank you.

Kind regards

Brenda

Yemen
Level Contributor
1 post
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help needed - information on Yemen

OK I'm living in the old city. I woudl like to help you, if I can.

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
179 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Help needed - information on Yemen

Oh, thank you so much! I'll try to keep it brief.

The protagonist is a strong-willed professional Australian woman whose husband is an engineer working on a dam in Yemen. She and her sixteen year old daughter travel from Australia to visit him (in early December) and the daughter disappears.

1. Fist impressions of Sana'a - does it have a distinctive smell like, say, Hong Kong? What are the predominant sounds? Is it dusty? What would the mother and daughter first notice when they leave the airport?