We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning trip to Myanmar - pls help with recommendations

San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 posts
82 reviews
Save Topic
Planning trip to Myanmar - pls help with recommendations

Hello,

I am planning a trip to Myanmar in December. This is my first time to Myanmar, but I desperately want to do a self-trip as opposed to a guided tour. So far my itinerary looks like this:

Dec 24: Arrive afternoon. Overnight in Yangon

Dec 25: Early morning flight to Mandalay. Overnight

Dec 26: Mandalay

Dec 27: Afternoon flight to Inle Lake, Overnight

Dec 28: Inle Lake

Dec 29: Afternoon flight to Bagan. Overnight

Dec 30: Bagan

Dec 31: Bagan

Jan 1: Afternoon flight to Yangon. Overnight

Jan 2: Depart

I'm mostly interested in cultural/historical places and will come up with my own list of things to do. However, I'd like a recommendation for

* How to book hotels, ideally in some central way - some hotels have web sites and allow online reservations, others don't. I've read a couple of posts here that point to Radiant Tours, but their site has not been updated since 2008. I want to find mid-range hotels, so would appreciate pointers on the best way to book them (I guess I can contact each hotel separately and do reservations via email, but is there an easier way?)