We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Uplistsikhe or Vardzia

London, United...
Level Contributor
407 posts
154 reviews
Save Topic
Uplistsikhe or Vardzia

I'm in the planning stages of a trip to Georgia and wondered whether it was worth seeing both Uplistsikhe or Vardzia or if one was better than the other. I think Vardzia is further away (and harder to get to) but it is bigger. I am a keen photographer so would be grateful for advice on which looks nicest (by that I mean more complete & less of a ruin!). Thanks

Kyiv
Destination Expert
for Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
21,670 posts
320 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Uplistsikhe or Vardzia

Hi thumbelina,

We’re just back from a terrific getaway to Georgia, but while we’ve been to Uplistsikhe, we didn’t make it to Vardzia as it was too long for a 1-day side trip. We were based in Tbilisi this time, and to visit Vardzia in no rush it was better to stay overnight somewhere in or near Borjomi. So unfortunately I can’t help you with comparing Uplistsikhe and Vardzia.

But I have a suggestion, if you find out that Vardzia will be off your main rout.

Consider visiting David Gareji monastery complex instead http://whc.unesco.org/en/tentativelists/5224/ It’s quite close to Tbilisi and can be done as a side trip from there. The monastery is extremely large (by different data, from 20 to 35km long), but only a few of its parts are visited most often. The only problem is you will have to climb up for over 1km to reach them.

I think the decision of visiting both Uplistsikhe AND Vardzia/David Gareji OR just one place depends on how much time you have budgeted for your entire Georgia trip and what other things to see you have planned.