We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

flight transfer (seoul -> beijing -> nyc) only 2.5hr in bj??

Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
flight transfer (seoul -> beijing -> nyc) only 2.5hr in bj??

So I have an air china flight that's from seoul to nyc but there's a layover/flight transfer/whatever in beijing. However, there's only 2 hours and 20 minutes in beijing. Is that enough time? I've never had to do layovers before nor have I ever been to the beijing airport. I'm a college student studying abroad and traveling myself. I bought my ticket like this directly from air china...so air china should know if it's enough time or not to put the tickets out like this, right?

Thanks!

San Francisco
Destination Expert
for Guangzhou
Level Contributor
12,556 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: flight transfer (seoul -> beijing -> nyc) only 2.5hr in bj??

You have enough time. Airlines will not sell you the ticket if there is not enough time. I am a frequent business travelers doing transits constantly, many of them are just one hour or 1.5 hours, and I have transited thru PEK.

As for possible flight delays, that is not in anyone's control anyway.

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4,692 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: flight transfer (seoul -> beijing -> nyc) only 2.5hr in bj??

If you have enough time for transit, depends highly on the chances of delays in the first leg. Most of the time 2 hours is a big enough gap for transfers at major airports between international flights. That leaves some room for delays. So almost 2,5 hours will be enough.