We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reputable Jade store and chinese herbal

Which Beijing hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Osan, South Korea
Level Contributor
137 posts
44 reviews
Save Topic
Reputable Jade store and chinese herbal

Hi,

I would like to buy Jade when I am in China. I read in the forum that most Jade sold over there are fake and told not to buy Jade if I am not an expert. I came across this chain store in TA. http://www.chowtaifook.com

1) Is this store reputable? Any other similar store?

2) Which brand is nearest to my hotel (Beijing Intl Hotel), close to Jianguomen and dongdan subway station?

3) Is the price bargain-able or fixed?

4) Also, I'm interested to buy Chinese herbal like Chrysanthemum flower tea(not tea bags),tongui, etc can I just get it in any Chinese herbal shop in China?

Cheers

Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
38,756 posts
808 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Reputable Jade store and chinese herbal

This is a reputable chain.

when a jade item is cheap, for sure it is fake. I have seen simple jade bracelet in a reputable store and they were 30 to 40,000RMB. Real and quality jade is expensive.

San Francisco
Destination Expert
for Guangzhou
Level Contributor
11,080 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Reputable Jade store and chinese herbal

Sorry to disagree, but IMHO, most jades are real, 10-20 yuan jade pieces too. Jade by itself is mass produced in 1,000s of small factories, it is not a precious stone, except the few which professionals know as such, which tend to be very ugly to our untrained eyes.