We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

shopping in limited time

Bunbury western...
Level Contributor
281 posts
179 reviews
Save Topic
shopping in limited time

We've only got one morning in HK (stopover) and would like to buy a video camera, and maybe other electronics (CD's DVD's). We're staying at the Majestic. Whats the quickest, easiest place to go for good prices and how best to get there (with 3 kids in tow). Has anyone got any really good bargains?

Thanks

OZI-GAL

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,663 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: shopping in limited time

Hi Ozi-Gal

I am no expert on HK as many on this site are but after having spent 5 days in HK in August I checked out the prices for CD/DVD's (not pirated ones) and found them dearer than we can buy them for in discount stores here in Sydney - not sure about video cameras, I got a good deal on an ARchos Personal multimedia player and also $100.00 off a nokia phone (but I took some time with the salesman taking my sim card out of my phone and putting it in the new one to make sure it worked) but with only 1 morning in HK and 3 kids I think you would spend a fair bit of time trying to find a good deal and also if there is a problem with it, it will be too late to take it back, I love my video camera and carry it with me all the time so maybe try to do a deal duty free before you go and then you know you wont have any problems - I found if i got a good price from a duty free shop then went to a large discounter they will match it - my husband and I ran all over the place looking for bargains and i dont know if i would want to do it with 3 little ones in tow, HK is very busy and exciting, take them for a ride on the star ferry and see how big the harbour is, it makes SydneyHarbour look very small

have a good time

abbey