We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bali hotel asking for creditcard and passport copies

Sydney, Australia
9 posts
Save Topic
Bali hotel asking for creditcard and passport copies

I have been travelling overseas for many years now and was taken aback when on recently booking a hotel on the Gilli Islands in Bali, they requested a photocopy of my credit card (front and back ) and a photocopy of my passport as well as my credit card details, to secure the booking. The information was to be faxed/scanned to them . I have already supplied my credit card details. The alarm bells started. Has anyone experienced this before as I never have? Does alarm bells sound for you too?

Leeds, UK
Destination Expert
for Bali
Level Contributor
18,650 posts
54 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bali hotel asking for creditcard and passport copies

Hi cat - see this previous discussion a couple of pages back:

tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g294226-i7220-k7…

Yes, it's not uncommon.

Edited: 18 June 2014, 08:09
Bali, Indonesia
Destination Expert
for Ubud, Pemuteran, Yogyakarta
Level Contributor
9,793 posts
102 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Bali hotel asking for creditcard and passport copies

It's not the hotels and shops etc that need it..the banks do not allow credit card transactions for foreign cards that are outside the country. Once you are in Indonesia you can use it normally.

However, that seems that the hotel is going to charge your card right away. If you cancel your booking you might be out of luck. If possible i would use a secure transaction site or find a different way to leave your deposit.

Chennai (Madras...
Level Contributor
28 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Bali hotel asking for creditcard and passport copies