We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

7 Day Trip: Tokyo only or Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka?

Cheongju, South...
3 posts
Save Topic
7 Day Trip: Tokyo only or Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka?

My boyfriend and I will be in Japan for the first time from Aug 13-20. We had originally planned to go to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka.

However, looking at how much rail passes and hotels are going to cost during this time, we've also recently started thinking about just staying in Tokyo the entire time.

My question is: for those who have been to Japan and to these places, would you recommend trying to visit all 3 locations in our short time frame or just staying in Tokyo and enjoying our time there?

I wouldn't mind just staying in Tokyo because I'm sure we can find things to fill the time but this is my first time to Japan and I don't know when (or if) I will ever be coming back and don't want to feel like I missed out.

This was our original itinerary which outlines a very rough plan of what we would like to do in each city, time and budget permitting:

Tokyo

- Tokyo Sky Tree *

- Park Hyatt tokyo *

- Shinjuku National Garden

- Shibuya Crossing *

- Tokyo bike tour *

- Roppongi Hills

Kyoto

- Fushimi Inari Shrine

- En Tea ceremony

- Gion Corner

Osaka

- Osaka Aquarium Kaiyukan *

- Ferris Wheel

- Nanba Grand Kagetsu

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24,344 posts
123 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 7 Day Trip: Tokyo only or Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka?

I think it's fine to visit Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka in 7 days. But then, you can most probably enjoy the whole 7 days in Tokyo (and its surrounding areas) only.

Kyoto could have much more to see, eat, and drink, in my humble opinion.