We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Advice for a solo traveller going to Japan

London, United...
Level Contributor
39 posts
Save Topic
Advice for a solo traveller going to Japan

I am planning to go to Japan next April specifically to Tokyo and Kyoto for 2-3 weeks, since it is my first time travelling there i had a couple of questions:

What are the best ways to get across the country in? What specific trains?

Are there any other cities that I have missed that are worth going to?

Also is it safe for a female solo traveller?

Mentioned in this post
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Kyoto
Kyoto
Kyoto Prefecture, Japan
Illinois
Destination Expert
for Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53,373 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Advice for a solo traveller going to Japan

Please research - http://www.japan-guide.com/ - the site has some suggested itineraries. Without knowing your interests - it's difficult for us to offer suggestions. Japan is very safe.

Train is the best mode of travel between Tokyo & Kyoto. The site I gave you has all of the details.

Mentioned in this post
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Kyoto
Kyoto
Kyoto Prefecture, Japan
2. Re: Advice for a solo traveller going to Japan

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

TripAdvisor staff removed this post because it did not meet TripAdvisor's forum posting guidelines with prohibiting self-promotional advertising or solicitation.

We ask all of our members to keep their forum messages free of self-promoting advertisements or solicitation of any kind - members affiliated with any tourism-related business should not include commercial contact information or URLs in their forum messages.

To review the TripAdvisor Forums Posting Guidelines, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/pages/forums_posting_guidelines.html