We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ogasawara or Kerama Islands in October?

Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
114 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Ogasawara or Kerama Islands in October?

Hi,

I'm a huge fan of Okinawa. I've already been to Hontou (the main island), Miyako, Kume and the Yaeyama Islands (all of them + Yonaguni).

I just want to spend a few relaxing days or a week at nice beaches ... maybe with a bit of swimming and snorkeling without having to worry too much about bad weather.

I've once spend 2 weeks in Okinawa that were FULL of rain. It was HORRIBLE! :(

So, I'm trying to decide if I should visit the Ogasawara Islands or the Kerama Islands.

I'm not good with ferries, though. I get easily seasick. Taking the ferry to Mikurajima / Miyakejima almost killed me despite taking meds, so I'm a bit worried. And I also read that October is the month with the highest precipitation on the Ogasawara Islands.

Furthermore, it's more expensive to travel to the Ogasawara Islands, especially because I live in Kansai, not in Tokyo.

At first sight, the Kerama Islands don't have that much rain in October. It's easier and cheaper to access.

I can only go in the first 1-2.5 weeks in October, so considering that, what would you recommend?

Has anyone been on either island in October before?

Thank you. :)

Mentioned in this post
Okinawa Prefecture
Okinawa Prefecture
Kyushu-Okinawa, Japan
Miyako
Miyako
65 Reviews
Gero, Japan
Ogasawara
Ogasawara
26 Reviews
Aso, Japan
Kerama Islands
Kerama Islands
136 Reviews
Shimajiri-gun, Japan
Hotel Kansai
Hotel Kansai
356 Reviews
Osaka, Japan
Tokyo
Tokyo
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Likely To Sell Out
Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train...
4,226 Reviews
from US$143.10*
Special Offer
Tokyo Robot Restaurant Cabaret Show...
111 Reviews
from US$55.40*
US$73.90