We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Siquijor, Tablas Island or Palawan in early September 2013?

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 posts
Save Topic
Siquijor, Tablas Island or Palawan in early September 2013?

Hi everyone, I want to ask your advice and input on what's the best place to visit during the first 2 weeks of September: Siquijor, Tablas Island or Palawan? This is my first time in the Philippines so I don't know much about traveling there. I am looking for a place that has

- fairly good weather (I don't mind some rain but not all day along),

- good sandy white beaches,

- not too crowded,

- fairly easy transport to and from Manila

Please let me know your recommendation and your thoughts and opinions. I value them greatly. Thanks.

Philippines
Destination Expert
for Philippines
Level Contributor
5,788 posts
263 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Siquijor, Tablas Island or Palawan in early September 2013?

Hi stle,

1) The only place in Palawan which fits into "fairly easy travel from Manila is Coron Palawan - the rest of Palawan is a pain to reach. Fortunately the sights in Coron are pretty close in comparisson with El Nido and PP, with much much less crowds.

In Coron, DO NOT stay in the town proper - it is a dusty crowded place with nothing of note - most people who have stayed in the town had a bad impression. Instead, stay on one of the outlying island s(we stayed in Discovery dive resort which has just one reasonably priced resort in the small island - not much of a beach though)

2) Siquijor - has a far better beach (depends a lot on WHERE you decide to stay.). We stayed at Cocogrove which has excellent facilities (is a bit expensive) and a long white sand beach (and excellent snorkeling and kayaking) + a lot of greenery

3) Tablas island - sorry, not been there yet.