We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

cebu in safety

aussie
1 post
Save Topic
cebu in safety

hello,

i am here to ask about Cebu,i am from australia and i need to go to Cebu to marry my beautful girlfriend.

like most people this is my first time there and of course there is lots of warning's from the australian goverment about traveling there.

i am unsure about the safety in Cebu,my girl friend keeps telling me that it is ok.

my friends keep on telling me that i am mad if i go because i will stand out in the crowd.i have blonde hair and blue eye's.i know it sounds silly but please can someone please put my mind at rest because if i don't go my girlfriend will be so upset.

thanks

Kerry

Paranaque...
Level Contributor
763 posts
53 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: cebu in safety

Hi Kerry,

Cebu is safe, a lot safer even than Manila. While you will stand out because you aren't Asian, there are LOTS of caucasians visiting and living in Cebu. They've even got their own rugby team! To be sure, stay in a reputable hotel in the center of things -- maybe the Marriot which is located near the Ayala Center (shopping mall), this way you won't need to travel far to get to restaurants or shops. Cheers!

Australia
Destination Expert
for Cebu City, Cebu Island
Level Contributor
8,797 posts
49 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: cebu in safety

Hello Kerry

Yes they do have a Rugby Club, as Vanilla Bean said. I just looked on my account list and found I am still hosting their website, for free:

http://www.ceburugby.com

If you want an Australian viewpoint of Living in and travelling to Cebu City and other parts of the Philippines, you can write to me directly at:

sibbick61@yahoo.com.au

Bad things happen everywhere in the world and Cebu is no exception. However, relatively speaking, Cebu is a safe place to visit.