We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Study/Travel in Valparaiso? Advice Please!

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
6 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Study/Travel in Valparaiso? Advice Please!

Hey all,

I'm a student who is going to be studying abroad this upcoming August - December. I am torn between Valparaiso/Vina del Mar, Chile and Buenos Aires, Argentina. What's most important to me is CULTURE. I want to meet locals, learn customs, and speak spanish (I'm at an intermediate level, but I'll be studying more in the upcoming months and during my stay abroad as well). I want to do lots of outdoor activities. I currently live in NYC so I'm not crazy about a bustling metropolitan area. Cities are great, but I want to do alot of excursions. Real travel. Does anyone have advice on Valpo? The people? The atmosphere? Good for students? And if you have advice on BA and how the two compare, that'd be great too. Thanks for the help in advance!!!

- Maria

Mentioned in this post
Chile
Chile
South America
Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal District, Argentina
Austral Divers
Scuba & Snorkeling
INTI- Bikes
Bike Tours, City Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Private Tours
Naveguemos Cunco
Boat Tours, Boat Hire
The Chilean Central...
Destination Expert
for Chile
Level Contributor
2,385 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Study/Travel in Valparaiso? Advice Please!

>>>>> I want to meet locals, learn customs, and speak spanish (I'm at an intermediate level, but I'll be studying more in the upcoming months and during my stay abroad as well). <<<<<

Argentines are known for their friendliness and gregariousness. Chileans are reserved but if YOU make the effort, they will reciprocate in perhaps surprising ways.