We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Immunizations prior to Macchu Picchu

Fort Lauderdale...
Level Contributor
81 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Immunizations prior to Macchu Picchu

How important are yellow fever vaccines, malaria drugs and typhoid precautions before visiting Cusco and hiking to Macchu Picchu?

Any reports of contracting these diseases?

Tucson, Arizona
Destination Expert
for Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10,435 posts
96 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Immunizations prior to Macchu Picchu

Malaria and yellow fever are not a risk; you're too high up. I always recommend Hep A whether you travel or not, and a tetanus booster every ten years is a must as well. Typhoid is caused by the same conditions as Hep A, although, truth be told, I've been traveling in third world countries for three decades and only just got around to getting the typhoid vax last year.

california
Level Contributor
11,773 posts
169 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Immunizations prior to Macchu Picchu

If you are not going to the jungle or to the northwest coast you don't need malaria or yellow fever.

…cdc.gov/travel/…seldyfm533

But bring your insect repellent for Machu Picchu, there are little nearly invisible insects that can attack the exposed skin. Or just wear long pants, socks and shirts. They don't carry disease but some people have a bad reaction to their bites.