We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Machu Picchu

Which Machu Picchu hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Machu Picchu

A tour company I'm considering using quoted me $650 for 2 day MP tour including train from Olly, private guide for 2 of us, overnight in hotel in AC, 2nd day MP entry and hike HP and train back to Cuzco. Does this seem right? They say guide for 2 is expensive but we don't necessarily need a private tour. Can we hire a guide at MP the day of and travel to/from ourselves. I've never used a company before and I'm not sure I need to start now.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14,244 posts
117 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Machu Picchu

It's not outrageous. RT ticket on PeruRail is probably $120 ea. Entry tickets into MP are not cheap either and you've got two days, one including HP which costs extra. Plus a hotel, and hotels in Agua Calientes are not cheap either. You can easily book all this yourself so if you want, go to perurail.com, to the hotel's website, and to theofficial Machu Picchu page where you can buy tickets, http://www.machupicchu.gob.pe/, and add up the costs. You will pay a surcharge for using an agency.

You can pretty easily book all this yourself if you want. You don't need a tour agency. Another in between way to do it is to pick a hotel you want to stay at in Agua Calientes and ask them to make all the arrangements. Most, if not all, of them offer packages.