We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First trip to Eastern Europe / May 2010

New Jersey, usa
Level Contributor
98 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
First trip to Eastern Europe / May 2010

My wife and I are planning our first trip to Eastern Europe in mid May, 2010 and spending about 10 days traveling together, and then she will return to NYC and I will travel on alone for about 2 more weeks. My wife is an artist and likes to sketch local scenes and I am a photographer. We have pretty much ruled out Russia, but we are open to the rest of Eastern Europe. We also prefer not to move around too much but spend at least 3-4 nights in each location, using trains as our local mode of transportation. We need to start firming up our itinerary in the next week or so.

Any input, suggestions, comments would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jim

I have posted this in several Eastern European forums, not knowing which would be best.

Parma, Italy
Destination Expert
for Parma, Cremona, Zadar
Level Contributor
2,296 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First trip to Eastern Europe / May 2010

Croatia is beautiful. You could go to the coast and have a great sea sunset views, there are many National Parks also, like Plitvice and Krka....

Ely, Minnesota
Destination Expert
for Dubrovnik
Level Contributor
40,170 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: First trip to Eastern Europe / May 2010

Of course you should go to Croatia...picturesque villages, beautiful coastline, wonderful people. I know there are many places that would be excellent, but Croatia would be at the top of my list. By the way, I don't think that Croatia would be considered Eastern Europe, but that shouldn't stop you from going there.

Brighton and Hove...
Destination Expert
for Trogir, Ciovo Island
Level Contributor
5,740 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply