We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

17 days Panama & Costa Rica

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 posts
Save Topic
17 days Panama & Costa Rica

Hi,

Do you have any suggestions for an itinerary through Panama and Costa Rica in August? I am flying in and out of San Jose, but I definitely want to see the Canal (I'm an engineer - I love big infrastructure). I am looking forward to wildlife watching, birding, rafting, seeing coffee and banana farms, a little beach time, and snorkeling if possible. Are there places that are less humid? I don't want to rent a car. I'm open to taking a short plane trip if that helps save time. How are overnight buses?

Thanks so much in advance!

Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
2,237 posts
174 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 17 days Panama & Costa Rica

I haven't been to Panama yet, but will comment on Costa Rica. I recommend visiting Manual Antonio National Park. While there take a tour of the park with a guide. You can hire a guide at a stand directly outside of the park. There is a nice beach inside the park which will be at the end of your tour. You can take a bus to either Monteverde and/or Arenal Volcano. I will mention that our worst tours of all vacations were in La Fortuna (Arenal Volcano area). These tours were taken on the spur of the moment and were not mentioned on Tripadvisor. The waterfall outside of La Fortuna is a must do as well as a zip line. I can provide more information if needed. You will have to fly in and out of the San Jose airport. You might choose to visit the north (Tamarindo) instead. This area has more expats.