We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

December Trip

Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
December Trip

First off, thanks to all who have written before me. I have never used tripadvisor before and all of the feedback is great. I am heading out to Panama with my girlfriend in December and would like some advice. I have traveled Costa Rica and Mexico and love Latin American culture. We are staying at the Intercontinental Playa Bonita during part of the stay but are flexible for other ideas.

1. Can anyone comment on customs coming into Panama City at night? We arrive at 9 pm or so and would like some idea of how difficult finding our way to Panama City via a rental car?

2. Can anyone comment on a reasonable location on the pacific coast located within 30 miles drive or so from the Intercontinental Play Bonita? Naturally, we'd like the perfect combination of quiet resort, fairly inexpensive, drivable and near some other options for restaurants/bar.

Thanks so much for all the help in advance!

CDY
Medellin, Colombia
Destination Expert
for Panama City
Level Contributor
3,878 posts
99 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: December Trip

Driving into PC is very easy from the airport it is about 15km on a toll road, two toll boths.

The problem is once you get into PC, depending on where you are staying it can somewhat easy or a bit difficult.

Let us know where you are going, and we can help you with how to get there.

Don't skip staying in PC, not sure how old you are from your post but there is a lot of nightlife(and dining). Running off to some isolated resort on the beach won't give a good feel for the country or the people.