We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Which Panama City hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
801 posts
262 reviews
Save Topic
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Pretty much on the spur of the moment I purchased a ticket to Panama city(April 14th-19th). I am a 30 year old teacher who will be travelling alone. Anyhow I was wondering if 5 nights in Panama City is too much. Are there plenty of day trips from the city. I was planning on booking a hotel for 5 nights, but if 5 nights is too much, I could book one for less nights ,a and spend a night or two in a different area. Also is it safe to rent a car and just go exploring? What would you do if you flew into Panama city, and had no limitiations except you had to fly out of the same city in 5 days. Thanks in advance!

CDY
Medellin, Colombia
Destination Expert
for Panama City
Level Contributor
3,709 posts
97 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any help would be greatly appreciated

Panama City is an excellent base for 5 nights.

You can see:

Casco Viejo

The canal - Miraflores locks

El Valle - about 2 hours away

Portobello about 2 hours away the opposite direction

Take a boat out to Tobago

Take a daytrip to Gamboa

The above will take up most of your stay.

Being a (I am guessing) single guy you want to stay in PC, there is great nightlife and plenty of good restaurants.

One thing I will warn you, make sure you get hotel reservations, getting a flight is the easy part, finding a decent hotel that is not full is the hard part.

As far as renting a car, take a taxi when inside PC, if not going on a tour, rent a car to see the sites outside of PC, driving is pretty easy once you are out of the city.