We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

23yr female solo first time!!!

Level Contributor
7 posts
32 reviews
Save Topic
23yr female solo first time!!!

Hi, Im flying into guatemala city on sunday and was wondering if anyone knows if I have to book the shuttle to antigua? It's my first time backpacking as well as being on my own so any advice or help would be much appreciated!! Super nervous!!!

Im also looking at hostels.. is there anything in particular I should avoid?

Also how easy is it to find an atm and how much money should I carry on me at any one time?

Thanks in advance :)

Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
2,954 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 23yr female solo first time!!!

Unless you're arriving particularly late, there should be shuttles waiting to take folks to Antigua. They go when they're got enough (for them) people.

ATMs are abundant in Antigua. Try to use one that's inside a bank, or that has a guard next to it. Generally speaking, don't carry any more cash than you're going to spend that day.

Can't help with the hostel question.

California
Level Contributor
2,800 posts
312 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 23yr female solo first time!!!

As for thinking that having a guard at the ATM makes a difference? I am not sure. I used ATM with guard who actually had to let me in the little room adjacent to the bank and I used that ATM three times (Honduras) and was hacked. So now I carry cash which of course has its own issues. Many places will accept U.S. dollars and your change will be most likely in their currency. You can get Quetzals ordered from your bank before you leave.