We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Euro 2012 - High Speed Trains Schedules

Lisbon
Level Contributor
2 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Euro 2012 - High Speed Trains Schedules

Hi,

I'm new to the Tripadvisor and this is my first time writing in this forum. I've tried to find the answers to my questions in other threads but couldn't get them.

As many thousands of fans, I'm heading to the Ukraine this June for the Euro2012 (Lviv and Kharkiv). I have doubts about the internal travelling:

1) Train: i've read in news articles about the new "high speed trains" in service in the Ukraine as of May 2012. I will surely want such a service for the Kiev-Lviv and Kiev-Kharkiv lines. Is there any place where I can look for the planned schedules? Secondly, is it possible to purchase the tickets in advance?

2) Car: another possibility will be to rent a car and travel around. I've read intensively about the poor state of the roads in the Ukraine, and the poor quality of the roadsigns. First question, is this true or myth? Second question, would this option be advised vs taking the train?

I have plenty of questions regarding accomodation availability and outrageous prices, but I see I'm not alone and many other threads about this topic have been started.

Thank you!

Kyiv
Level Contributor
21,670 posts
324 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Euro 2012 - High Speed Trains Schedules

Hi pmlt and welcome to Ukraine forum :)

1) Indeed, those speedy express trains are said to be running starting from May. Therefore their schedule is expected to be announced around April.

Train tickets in Ukraine are available for sale in no earlier than 45-30 days prior to your tentative travel date.