We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Transit in Dubai and Liquor Carrying

Which Dubai hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Glasgow, United...
1 post
Save Topic
Transit in Dubai and Liquor Carrying

Hello

I'm flying from Glasgow - Dubai - Mauritius in 2 weeks time with a 1h 50 minutes transit window time.

The threads in this forum mention that transiting involves going through security(so no point buying any liquor from Glasgow) and i guess was considering whisky bottles from Dubai is the only option.

Will this be enough time to go through security and buy liquor as well? It's my first time transiting through Glasgow.

UK, Mauritius
Destination Expert
for Mauritius, Belle Mare, Pointe Aux Piments, Pereybere
Level Contributor
38,007 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Transit in Dubai and Liquor Carrying

Hi,

I often transit with a one hour fifty minute time limit and even have time to have a drink and meal in the lounge as well as a quick shop.

You only have to go through security which IME has considerably speeded up in the past few months.

You cold buy booze in Glasow if they will package it in the tamper free plastic bag - a lot of people I know have done this and had no problems with Dubai security but I havent tried it.

You can buy whisky in duty free arrivals in Mauritius though it might be cheaper in Dubai.

Have a lovely time in Mauritius.

Here and there
Destination Expert
for Dubai, Pissouri
Level Contributor
42,114 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Transit in Dubai and Liquor Carrying

They might put in in a tamper free bag at Glasgow and they might let it through in Dubai, then again they may not so you could risk it or you could buy your whisky in Dubai duty free and not have anything to worry about.

Why spend the money and take the chance ?