We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African -American male going to Goa, India solo and advice?

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
African -American male going to Goa, India solo and advice?

Hello fellow travelers, I am going to Goa, India in June as a solo traveler. I am an experienced traveler, being well aware of the risks, and general safety measures I should take. However , this is my first time to India, and just wanted to see if anyone had any advice I should maybe be aware of/

I had a friend who went to India and said I may stand out a little just due to my height being 6'5", and being black, which I thought was very weird.... being I would be on a continent with over 1 billion Brown people. But, I just wanted to throw it out there to all of you good people.

By the way, I will be at the Nirvana Hermitage in Goa...anyone stayed there?

Jah Bless

Felixstowe, United...
Level Contributor
3,683 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: African -American male going to Goa, India solo and advice?

O'h dear!! Well to put not to finer point on it. Indins prize "fair" as they call it ,skin tone .They even put it down as a requirement when asking for a marrige partner.

That puts your skin tone a bit far down the list!!.Also your hight would make you stand out would it not? in a land where most men are quite short.Put the two together and they are going to look!!.

I laughed when I first heard it , I could not believe it, but it is true I can assure you.

If you know about it , you can then deal with it.

LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
8,849 posts
39 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: African -American male going to Goa, India solo and advice?