We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swimming in the Goa Ocean?

Canada
Level Contributor
183 posts
49 reviews
Save Topic
Swimming in the Goa Ocean?

Hi there,

Heading to Goa in February for the first time...very excited. We are staying in Candolim.

I have been traveling to India for many years and well versed on the country.

Specific to Goa, I see loads of mentions about the shacks, food, lifestyle etc. But I don't see many comments about swimming in the ocean. Just curious to get your take on the beaches in North Goa?

Do most people swim in the Ocean or is it dirty and stick with swimming pools?

Thoughts?

Jay

Edited: 09 November 2012, 03:54
Dagenham, ESSEX
Level Contributor
1,165 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Swimming in the Goa Ocean?

Hi

In the pool, swimming in other peoples pee, has often given me an ear infection.

I've never had this from the sea.

BC

Leicester, United...
Level Contributor
678 posts
113 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Swimming in the Goa Ocean?

I prefer to swim in the sea anywhere but last year found it too rough in candolim and cavelossim.

However i swam in the pool everyday, and had a severe gastric viral infection when i got home, needing 4 weeks off work. As did a couple we met at the hotel who also used the pool. we had eaten different food in different restaurants ,the drs thought it was probably from the hotel pool. so i would say it depends how well the hotel keeps the pool.

i will stick to the sea in future there

London, United...
Destination Expert
for Cavelossim
Level Contributor
4,002 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Swimming in the Goa Ocean?