We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help Needed ( malaria tablets)

Oxford
Level Contributor
264 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Help Needed ( malaria tablets)

We have been taking Paludrine/Avloclor for the last four years, and got on with them ok, OH still is, but for sum reason l am not, very bad Nightmares/Dreams and they are waking me up so consequently not getting a lot of sleep,and as we are here a long time, could anyone suggest any thing l can get from the pharmacist here that might be better. l really dont want to stop taking these but l may have to.

many thanks

London, United...
Destination Expert
for Goa
Level Contributor
5,166 posts
89 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help Needed ( malaria tablets)

Can you get doxycycline in Goa? It can cause sun sensitivity and I am not a doctor/nurse but think probably your best bet. You cant get Malarone there, pharmacists will probably recommend larium but take at your own risk, I would rather risk malaria personally. www.drugs.com/sfx/lariam-side-effects.html

Redditch, United...
Level Contributor
10,135 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Help Needed ( malaria tablets)

How long are you in Goa for?

Doncaster, United...
Level Contributor
1,453 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Help Needed ( malaria tablets)

when i did six months i went bareback...lol

i didnt take anything and neither did any of the other longstay peps that i knew

but that was my choice, goa is not a high risk area,

i now live a thousand miles south of you and when i showed my doc the pills he chucked them in the bin

now places like the gambia you are risking your life by not taking them

but again its your choice

London, United...
Destination Expert
for Goa
Level Contributor
5,166 posts
89 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Help Needed ( malaria tablets)