We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ladakh and Kashmir in June&July

Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
47 posts
Save Topic
Ladakh and Kashmir in June&July

I am in early state of planing my indian vacation.I have limited time , 4 week in month of June&July .

It would be first time in India and decide to go north to Ladakh region. Got copy of new LP India guidebook but still have many question to ask. As a avid photographer i always choose scenic places and it seems this region has lot to offer . There is list of things i would like to see and do:one of the festival in Leh region(Lamayaru,Hemis,Takthong) Nubra valey(homestays treks), maybe Dal lake houseboats.....

I would like to have some of your thoughts,suggestion for my itinerary.Is June&July good period of year to travel to region?

Is there interesting places in Kashmir region that should not be missed and are 4 weeks of travel good amount of time?

What is the best way to travel without backtracking, start in Leh from Manali, or take a flight to Shringar from Delhi than by road to Leh via Kargil, Leh to Manali by bus?

As i am use to travel on budget dont know what can i expect in India with accomodation,transport and food costs?

Any help higly appriciated!

Cheers

India
Level Contributor
233 posts
101 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ladakh and Kashmir in June&July

@ Mgtrex -

1) No issues buying a LP (always easier to start your trip with), but do keep it hidden while travelling - it gives away newbies and is a good signal for people to scam you!

2) After reading LP, DO research the places you find interesting on the next - the photos, blogs and TA reviews tell you far more than the guidebooks can.