We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bangalore to Cochin (Kochi)

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Bangalore to Cochin (Kochi)

Dear Advisor,

I have plans to travel on my new swift car from Bangalore - Cochin for the very first time to Cochin, but not the 1st time to Kerala. I am an expert driver.

Kindly advice me about the road, safety & direction as both ways i ll be driving at night. I am not sure if the Bandipur & other forest routes ll keep opened for vehicles at night, Hence kindly suggest a suitable route.

Thanks & Regards -

Umesh Patil

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
304 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Bangalore to Cochin (Kochi)

Bangalore to Cochin is typically done in two ways, Via Salem / Coimbatore or Via Bandipur. The first route is slightly longer, but faster because there are no hill areas in between.

I guess Bandipur forest roads are closed in night (except for few buses), from that perspective also, taking the Salem route is a better option.

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Bangalore to Cochin (Kochi)

i just saw an suggestion thread on TEAM BHP, Mr.KPH says actually can avoid Salem after Dharmapuri which leads directly to Bhavani passing through Mettur itseems, cross checked in google map,found it shorter skipping Salem after Dharmapuri,

however most of the related threads posted in TEAM BHP are back in 2004 & later.

So its a long way ago, roads now are changed both way, good & bad. Difficult to judge.

I personally love to drive in the forest zone, like Mysore Bandipur, Madumalai National Park, its thrilling route.

Just need a confirmed information about the gates open in night for vehicles between forest. Could be very helpful.

Appreciate Mr.idiscoverindia_nagac for your iniate on my post.