We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

8D7N in Padang, West Sumatra

singapore
Level Contributor
14 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
8D7N in Padang, West Sumatra

Hi

I went on a 8D7N backpacking trip to Padang from 15-22 July 2012 and will like to share my experience.

Here is my itinerary for reference:

15/7- Padang

16/7- Bukittinggi

17/7- Bukittinggi

18/7- Lake Maninjau

19/7- Harau Valley

20/7- Bukittinggi

21/7- Padang

22/7- Padang

This is my first time travelling solo and generally a pleasant experience as I had all the time to do things I want. The itinerary wasn't like this initially, but it was altered after some considerations due to several factors.

15/7

The airport tax is Rp30,000.

Transport

There's several way to get to the city.

1. Cars

2. Bus

Using the car service will cost you from Rp100,000-150,000.

If you are not in a rush, be firm and insist on the Damri Bus. The Damri Bus was within my vision just when I exit the airport entrance. It will cost you Rp18,000 only. The Damri Bus is comfortable, air-conditioned and clean. The bus drops you at fix spots only so please be sure of your hotel's location and alight at the

nearest stop.

JFYI, the stops: Jl. Hasanudin - Hotel Bumiminang - Jl. Diponegoro - Jl. Pemuda - Jl. Damar - Jl. Veteran - Jl. Juanda - Jl. S.Parman - Jl. Adinegoro - Sp. Duku - Jl. Ketaping - BIM(PP)

Accommodation

My first and last night was at Brigitte House. I enjoyed my stay here. Brigitte is a friendly lady who is always ready to assist in any areas of doubts. Her staff were extremely pleasant, always ready to assist me if I had any questions. On my last day of the vacation, I wanted to do some walking to find food (Bulan Puasa