We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Istanbul - Goreme : Itinerary?

London, United...
3 posts
Save Topic
Istanbul - Goreme : Itinerary?

Driving from Istanbul to Cappadocia at beginning of June......

Is there any "must see" places enroute?

Aberdeen, Scotland
Destination Expert
for Aberdeen
Level Contributor
6,773 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Istanbul - Goreme : Itinerary?

Are you planning on making the journey over a few days because it's over a ten hour journey?

London, United...
3 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Istanbul - Goreme : Itinerary?

I'm a v fast driver ;) (2 days)

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4,600 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Istanbul - Goreme : Itinerary?

There are definitely must see places along the way.

Option 1:

Istanbul to Safranbolu in Duzce to visit the Unesco heritage site of the old authentic Ottoman township.

From there drive to Hattusas to the 5000 year old ruins of the Unesco heritage original capital of the Hittite empire.

From there make your way to Kirsehir to visit the Cacabey Medrese (mosque) which was one of the earliest space observatories built 900 years ago where the locals not only used to worship their lord but also gaze at the stars figuring out the cosmos and galaxy.

Mind you these were happening at a time when Europeans were believing that the earth was flat and killing anybody that suggested otherwise.

Also visit the nearby Ahi Evran mosque

From there make your way to Saruhan caravanserai which is on the fringes of Cappadocia that is an 800 year old Seljuk built han/hotel complex which has been preserved in its original form.

Here is a list of all the other caravanserais in the vicinity which you would visit them at will with your car

Here is a map of the route http://goo.gl/maps/Fiuxg

Option 2: