We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling Vietnam Alone

atlanta
10 posts
Save Topic
Traveling Vietnam Alone

I've looked through this sight and haven't exactly found what I am looking for.

I am traveling by myself (I am a woman) for 12 days in early November. Ill be starting in Hanoi and ending in Ho Chi Minh. I have traveled central and South America on my own and I love sort of winging the trip as i go along. I am new to Southeast Asia and I love the freedom of having an outline of what I want to do but nothing set in stone. I don't like traveling with a group (I dont mind doing group tours once I am there). I am not worried about safety as much as I am about missing out on something because I don't get the right tour guide or miss out on an amazing cultural experience because I dont know the ins and outs of the country. I spoke with a travel agent and she just wouldnt let go of the fact that I wanted to do this on my own insisting I wouldnt get the ultimate experience.....Any advice, thoughts? Is it easy finding a great tour guide once you are there and getting arrangement made last minute? Is it not wise to wing it and see how the trip flows? I am open to all suggestions. Thanks!!!!

UK
Level Contributor
1,641 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Traveling Vietnam Alone

In my experience, you will have a far better time on your own than on an end-to-end tour. Easy to get to anywhere you want to go - the trick isin knowing where you want to go.

You seem to be doing everything right, apart from only coming for 12 days. If you're already doing Hanoi and Saigon, you'll be limited to only two or three other stops....

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14,127 posts
63 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Traveling Vietnam Alone