We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Time Skiing

Asia
9 posts
Save Topic
First Time Skiing

Hi advisors,

I have planned 1 day in Hirafu. How do I go about trying out skiing for the first time? I have no knowledge of this sport. So where can I take up a 1-2 hr clash course before skiing? is there any assigned ski area for amateur? Thank you.

Avoca, Australia
Destination Expert
for Rusutsu-mura
Level Contributor
3,555 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First Time Skiing

There's a group lessons here from 10:00 to 12:00 (cost not shown):

grand-hirafu.jp/winter/en/lessons/index.html

Here's another with a group class:

http://www.nisekobase.com/?page_id=85

One of the beginner areas is on your left at the bottom of the map (green).

grand-hirafu.jp/winter/en/mountain/map.html

travelling
Level Contributor
155 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: First Time Skiing

You can sign up for lessons with several operators at Hirafu. There's SAS, NISS, NBS and a few others. All have group or privatelessons in English. They will also have the necessary ski/boots/snowboards, etc for rental. Most beginers stay on the Family course and there's a magic carpet area for kids and first timers as well.

Asia
9 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: First Time Skiing

Tks for the reply. Do I need to sign up in advance as I am taking Niseko Limited Express arriving Kutchan at 940am? Dun think can make it in time for 10am class.. so after class I will try out around family lift area? i do not need to take the ski lift up and ski down? please pardon my many questions. Tks.

Hong Kong, China
Destination Expert
for Hong Kong, Osaka
Level Contributor
52,074 posts
147 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: First Time Skiing

Even for the family lift, you need to take the lift going up. The run is quite gentle.

Sapporo, Japan
Destination Expert